Jason Wisdom, in his blog Because Its True, takes on a meme, captured in the image on the right: Picture

I have recently come across several different incarnations of the image shown at right. The message is the same, but the pictures vary: “What Christians say: ‘I’ll pray for you.’ What I hear: ‘I’ve got magic thinking powers.'” I chose this particular one because I liked the wizard. Anyway, it popped up enough times in my web-browsing last week that I thought I would make it a journal topic for my 11th grade students on Friday. I simply attached the image and asked the students to respond. After giving them a few minutes to think about it, I asked, “What would you say if one of your friends posted this on Facebook?” None of my students really knew what to say. I don’t really blame them. After all, it isn’t really an argument or an assertion, but a just sort of existential observation. One could simply respond by saying, “Good to know. So what about this weather lately?”  Why then do many atheists find it so appealing and many Christians find it so intimidating? I think there are a few reasons.

And then further down:

While I think the main issue shown in the original image is the rejection of belief in God, and the basic claims of Christianity, I don’t think that we can fully escape at least some blame for the perceived silliness. Many, if not the majority of atheists that I interact with come from Christian backgrounds. I think it is fair attribute at least a portion of the sentiment they are expressing in memes like this one to a flippant, and even sometimes un-biblical approach to prayer in many Christian circles.

See the rest of his thoughtful article here: http://www.becauseitstrue.com/blogarticles/the-silliness-of-prayer-and-how-to-use-conditional-agreement

 

